yup


PHP iCalendar

Posted in web by on Mon. 7 Nov. 2005

“Some cool stuff…”

 I love iCal’s system. I’ve read some stuff about it and there are a lot of things going on.

PHP iCalendar is to view iCal files (IETF 2445). Meaning, you can upload your iCal files (even found an app to do that too: FTP iCal calendards.) So now we can easly have it on our website.

PHP iCalendar:

A php-based iCal file parser. It’s based on v2.0 of the IETF spec. It displays iCal files in a nice, logical, clean manner with day, week, month and year navigation, printer view, RSS-enabled and searchable. It supports 12 languages, is fully theme-able and has complete timezone support.

PHP iCalendar

Requered: Webserver running PHP 4.1.2 or later. View their online demo here.

iCal is a mac app, a friend using windows asked me if there were any he could use, so I Googled it.

The alternative would be to use the Mozilla Calendar or  SunBird also from Mozilla or their Calendar extension for Mozilla Suite, Firefox and Thunderbird, they use the same file format: .ics.

(There also was an iCal for windows but it didn’t look nice, see the online demo, plus it’s not free…)

And there are many “calendar-exchage” sites, where you can subscribe or download .ics files, like national holidays, moon phases… The one I like is the Weather Calendar, I think you can get the weather of all major cities of the world! So although I don’t live in a big city, I can have the local weather in my Calendar!   ðŸ™‚

Links to calendar-exchange: iCalShare Apple iCal share

technorati tags: , , , ,

Comments Off on PHP iCalendar

